Monday, May 18, 2009

35 Years of Achievement - Paid and Pre-Registration Namelist

As of 17th May, 4 people have made payment and another 15 people have pre-registered for this event. The list as follow:-
35 yrs of achievement (Paid)
1. Shamsuddin Sabri
2. Dr. Paul Sega
3. N. Annadurai Narayanasamy
4. Sri Shiva Kumar Narayanan

35 yrs of achievement (Pre-Registration)
1. Mark Siew Kit-Tze (U18)
2. Fariz Shafruddin
3. Chew EeWen (U12G)
4. Chew ESheng (U12)
5. Abdullah Che Hassan
6. Muhd Aidil Idrus Yusuf Piman
7. Sim Chung Seng
8. Yeoh Chin Seng
9. Yeoh Li Tian (U12)
10. Haslindah Ruslan (G)
11. Low Jun Jian (U18)
12. Low Jun Keat (U18)
13. Vinton Wong Hsien Loong (U18)
14. Ethan Wong Hsien Aun (U12)
15. Kamaluddin Yusof
16. Tan Kah Chun (U18)
17. Colin Chan Guo Gin (U18)
19. Goh Xin Yen (U18G)
20. Kamalarifin Wahiduddin
21. Mohd Faizal Roslan (U12)
22. Chin Shun Yi (U12G)
23. Chin Yi Hao (U12)
24. Tan Yi Yao (U12)
25. Tan Yi Huang (U12)
26. Cheong Jie Yao (U12)
27. Cheong Keat Zhen (U12)
28. Mohd Fadli Zakaria
29. Ismail Ahmad
30. Mat Zaki Yeop

For those CAS members who have yet to register for the event, we have extended the DEADLINE to 22nd May (FRIDAY) by sending an email to or sms your name to +6012-298 4922 (Lim Tse Pin). Also, there is a very high possibility we will add 5 more additional prizes to the Open Category. This means up to 22 people will be receiving prizes!!!

Lunch, drinks, snacks will be provided for all participants. Also, RM 1,300 cash prize fund is allocated specially for this special celebration. Hope you guys can come out in force to support the 35 Years of Achievement.

Source: Chess Association of Selangor blogsite

Sunday, May 3, 2009

35 Years of Achievement

CAS is celebrating her 35 years of Achievement in Malaysian Chess with one tournament for members only on 24th May 2009. This year marks the 35th anniversary for CAS, a milestone that we have seen many people contributed towards CAS directly or indirectly for the success of Malaysian Chess.

Among some notable achievements by CAS are
(i) Creating a score of teenagers dominating the Malaysian chess senior scene in the last 13 years e.g. Lim Yee Weng (Subang Jaya, Selangor) became National Men Champion at the age 14 in 1996, and successfully defended the title in 1997. In 1998, he did not take part to makeway for Ng Ee Vern (PJ, Selangor) to become the 1998 Men Champion. Many years later, two brothers from Subang Jaya namely Nicholas Chan and Marcus Chan continues Selangor domination in the National Closed, followed by Edward Lee (PJ, Selangor) in 2008.

(ii) Creating an overwhelming numbers of National Age-Group Champions in the last 10 years.

(iii) Successful in organising the longest continuous chess event in Malaysia for a record of 36 years in a row. [Certified by Malaysian Book of Records during the 27th edition in 2000]

(iv) Financially the best manage Chess Association in the country since mid-80's.

(v) Championing the creation of Allegro to spearhead the chess movement in Klang Valley since the late-1980's.

(vi) Championing the Chess Training Excellence Programme concept which started back in 1996.

Also, CAS will be holding the 32nd Annual General Meeting on the same day. Lunch will be served to all members who attended the AGM during the tournament day. CAS will accept new membership registration on tournament day. For new adult membership is RM 40 for 1st year plus RM 15 as tournament entrance fee, however, you must send an email to on your intention to join the event before closing date on 20th May 2009. CAS will not accept any walk-in registration on tournament day.